The Abia State House of Assembly, on Wednesday, confirmed the appointment of the 17 Transition Committee chairmen and their deputies.

DAILY POST recalls that the Transition Committee Chairmen were appointed on 18th December 2019, by the State Governor, Okezie Ikpeazu.

The Acting Governor, Rt. Hon. Ude Oko Chukwu, had last month, approved the reappointment of the Transition Committee Chairmen of Abia State for another term.

Earlier before their confirmation, on Wednesday, the Abia House of Assembly, had berated the continued stay of the 17 Transition Committee Chairmen of Local Government Areas, which according to the legislature, revealed that their tenure had expired on 17th June, 2020.

The State Assembly while reacting to a matter of urgent public importance, presented by the member, representing Isiukwuato constituency, Barrister Emeka Okoroafor, had stated that any further action taken by the 17 Local Government Transition Committee Chairmen from the 17th June 2020, amounts to illegality.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here